God save the Queen by Kate Locke

Title: God save the Queen
Author: Kate Locke
Length: 351 pages
Genre: Fantasy; Steampunk; Urban fantasy;
Format: hard Cover
Why I read it: Random Library Find

What it’s About: Xandra Varden is a halfie (vampire/human) who is part of the royal guard. When her sister goes missing, it is up to Xandra to find her. Along the way Xandra uncovers secrets that turn her world upside down and changes everything she thought she knew about the world she’s been part of since birth.

The Review: Many people may not know this about me, but I love steampunk. And this book is no exception. Only is’s got a bit of a twist. Instead of being Victorian England with modern technology, it’s Modern day England with a taste of The Victorian era. Xandra was by far my favorite character. She was tough, but also vulnerable. And fiercely loyal to her siblings. Xandra doesn’t shy away from not only questioning authority, but making it known that her family comes before her duty to the crown. She is very knowledgeable about the society she lives in the way it works and the way she learned about it growing up, but very much in the dark about it at the same time, and I think that naiveté is what made her so relatable to me. Then there is Xandra’s love interest, Vex. I loved him. He was supportive, he was protective of Xandra while at the same time understanding that she could take care of herself. it was clear that Vex considered Xandra very much his equal, and that was refreshing. And the relationship between them feels natural, not forced, And Xandra doesn’t let it get in the way of her goals to uncover the lies she discovers while looking for answers. I loved the world building. Lock made it so that the world of Vamps, halfies, humans, werewolves, and goblins was fun. It was absolutely delightful to learn about how each species coexisted and served each other in order to survive.

Unfortunately, like all good things, the book was not perfect. The main villain, while not a complete surprise, seemed more like an after thought. There’s no sense of who he is really, except that he is someone that Xandra trusted and looked up to. That’s it. There is no really getting to know him. He seemed more a backstory to the main story. Like Locke knew she needed a bad guy, so she made him part of the story, but didn’t pt the main focus on him. Also, I didn’t like that it was slang heavy. I know it’s alternate universe and all that, and some of the slang was pretty self explanatory, but There was a glossary in the back. I don’t enjoy that. Especially when it’s a slang word or phrase that isn’t even in the glossary. That got on my nerves. And I could have done without some of the repetitiveness I don’t need to told how much Xandra loved her dagger or how much she looked like her siblings. It was like in Harry Potter, the constant reminders that Harry looked like his father, but had his mother’s eyes… We get it, genetics makes you look like your family members. Over all though, the book was one that I didn’t want to put down. I stayed up way too late and finished it within a few hours of checking it out of the library.

Did I like it? I did. It was fast paced, but had moments of calm and I never felt bogged down or overloaded with information.
Would I reread it? I think I will one day.
Would I recommend it? I would, but only to certain people who I know would enjoy it.
Final rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

